Tags

, , , , , ,

The year since my move to Bridgeport flew by quickly.

I fell into a comfortable routine. Work, clinics, home, and the occasional outing to the park or out to Waylon’s Haunt with my best friends, Sophie Malone and Camryn Bleu, for a drink after work.

Or nachos. I love nachos!

And I never said no to playing a game at the bar with Sophie and Camryn, though Camryn and I had to team up against Sophie. She was just too good at it to take on alone…

But it occured to me one morning while drinking my coffee. I wasn’t very fun.

Sure, I went out sometimes, but I never really did anything…fun. My friends and co-workers would invite me out, but almost always, I declined.

“We’re going to the Grind tonight, want to come?”
“Oh no,” I would answer.”I have to work late tonight.”

“You should totally check out the Banzai lounge with us tonight!”
“I’d love to, but I really feel like curling up at home with a book, sorry guys…” I’d appologize.

Eventaully, the invitations mostly stopped. They knew I’d never accept. Sophie and Camryn still asked and convinced me to go to Waylon’s for a drink, but that was it.

Wow. I was…boring.

It sort of hurt to admit it. I mean, who wants to admit they’ve been a stick in the mud? I felt like a total ass.

I thought about it on the way to work.

And I decided, maybe it was time to talk to my friends.

~*~

That evening, I had Camryn and Sophie over for dinner, as usual. I finally just blurted it out to Camryn as we loaded the dishwasher.

“Cammy, am I…am I boring?”

“What do you mean?” she was confused.

“Well, I mean…I don’t go out a lot, and I guess I make a lot of excuses not to, and I feel really bad about it. I feel like such a…”

“Dull, tiring individual?”

“Well, yeah,” I said, blushing. I felt so flustered.

“I wouldn’t say that-”

“You just did,” I pointed out.

“Hey, you seemed to need some help finishing that sentence, hon,” Camryn replied, with a casual shrug.

“Look, honey, you’re not boring. You…just need to work on your social skills,” she added, with that eternally happy, confident smile of hers.”You should get out more. It’s a big, fun city. There’s a world beyond work, home and Waylon’s, you know.”

“Yeah, I know,” I muttered.

“Anyway, I have to get going, hone, early shift in the morning. I’ll see you and Sophie tomorrow. Remember, you’re buying the nachos.”

I winced as she went out the door. Nachos at Waylon’s. Good lord, what a rut I’d gotten us into. I turned to Sophie.

“Okay, Soph, what’s your take? Am I boring?”

Sophie thought awhile. A few minutes ticked by.

I was used to it. Sophie wasn’t slow, that is to say, slow as in dumb. She was a thinker. She liked to take the time to think things through very carefully.

“Hmm, not really,” she answered, tucking a strand of hair behind her ear.”You’re…comfortable.”

“What?” I asked, amused.

“You seem to like the way you are, and how you do things. If you don’t like to go out, you don’t have to, and that’s okay.”

But I want to, I really do! I wanted to say, but I held it in.

After another glass of necter, Sophie, too, went home. And I was left alone with my thoughts.

~*~

The next week, as I was leaving work, I’d made up my mind. I was going to start going out. I was going to start having fun. Because I was boring. And I was bored.

It was the night when Camryn and Sophie were invited for dinner. I’d prepared a lovely meal of Stir-Fry (no meat in mine, of course) and a tasty Cobbler. I suppose I was trying to sweeten them, though I knew there was no need.

After dinner, I went downstairs with them.

“Hey…Cammy, Soph?”

“Yeah?” Camryn paused.

“What would you say to maybe going out tomorrow night?”

“We always do, every Friday, hon,” Camryn laughed.

“No no, I mean…someplace…nice.”

“Whoa, really?” Camryn and Sophie shared a look.

“Yeah, really,” I nodded.”I was thinking…maybe the Brightmore or Aquarius.”

“Oh wow, totally!” Sophie exclaimed.

“What happened to me being ‘comfortable’ and that being okay?” I asked, dryly.

“Oh, it’s still okay to be like that, but it’s also good to try new things,” she replied.

“I’m so proud of you, hon,” Camryn said with her famous smile.”We’re going to have a great time, you’ll see.”

~*~

I gussied up, taking the most meticulous care with my appearance. I wanted to look just right.

As much as I hated to admit it, I was excited.

“Alright,” I told my reflection.”Let’s get our groove on!”

